Pineapple Raisin Baked Apples



This recipe for the fixins made a little more than I stuffed into the apples, but not enough for a third. Next time I will make slightly bigger holes, but this time I just ate the extra…

A friend today suggested I even write the failed recipes in here, so I’m posting this recipe before it’s even baked! They’re in the oven now! I’m so wild and crazy!

Also, I used Suzanne’s Just Like Honey Rice Nectar instead of honey. It’s a vegan, gluten free, non GMO macrobiotic sweetener – and I swear to you – it is just like honey and (cha-ching) cheaper than honey. Same goes for their Maple Syrup Rice Nectar. They just ROCK!

Update: Apples were good, but not fabulous. They could have been sweeter for me (I like me some sugar!) but, they did have a good flavor. The cooking time would go down if you hollowed out the middle a little more (time is really dependant on cooking the apples). The dried pineapple chunks never got really soft, which I would have liked. I did see a fig/raisin combo that sounded interesting for the next trail…I’ve never had figs!

Servings: 2 apples
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 60 minutes

Ingredients:
2 medium/large organic apples (no chemicals are good chemicals) – I used gala
1/2 cup Organic Dried Pineapple Pieces
1/2 cup Organic Golden Raisins
2 Tbsp Organic Brown Sugar (sense a theme here?)
1 Tbsp Suzanne’s Just Like Honey Rice Nectar (um…or honey?)
1 Cup Water with a dash of lemon juice

Instructions:
1. Pre-heat oven 350 degrees. Wash the apples then take a melon baller, and core out the apples – leaving a bit on the bottom to hold the stuffing in. Take my advice and buy a mellon baller. I didn’t have one, and it was a pain in the kiester to get this done. My olive spoon will never be the same.
2. In a small bowl, mix the pineapple, raisins, brown sugar. Once mixed, add the honey to make it all stick together. Stuff this mixture into the cored apples. Do make sure to stuff it well, as I noticed a big gap in one of mine.
3. Place apples in oven-safe dish, and add water with lemon juice to the bottom. Bake on 350 for 60 minutes or until you can pierce the apple with a fork.
4. Remove from the oven, and serve when slightly cooled. Enjoy!

Nutritional Info: 1 Apple: 311 kCa; 0g Fat; 79g Carbs; 1g Protein; 3 servings of Fruit

Leave a Reply

